Pacific Cup Names 12 Entrants. 1

Louis Vuitton have announced the names of the 12 teams that will compete in the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series. Mr Yves Carcelle, Chairman & CEO of Louis Vuitton, welcomed the participation of all the teams at an event at the New Zealand Embassy in Paris. 

When the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series was announced last September, 23 teams expressed their interest. Fourteen teams have confirmed they want to compete. With the number of participants being limited to 12, the last two entries have been placed on a waiting list. If, in the next month, one or more teams drop out, the teams in waiting will have the opportunity to fill the vacancy.

“The success of the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series has exceeded our expectations. We are pleasantly surprised that the announcement of this event has created a sense of excitement and conciliation in the world of the America’s Cup,” said Yves Carcelle.

The teams will now start their preparations. They will arrive in Auckland on January 23rd in order to familiarise themselves with the boats.

Bruno Troublé, spokesperson for Louis Vuitton, said that the gathering of international teams and sailors which will convene in Auckland for the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series is one of the most impressive ever brought together.

The Louis Vuitton Pacific Series is being organised in association with the New Zealand Government, Emirates Team New Zealand, the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, Auckland City and Sky City Entertainment Group.

Alinghi, winner and defender of the 2003 Louis Vuitton Cup is one of the confirmed participants.
Six daily match races are planned on short windward-leeward courses laid at the entrance to Auckland’s Waitemata Harbour, between Rangitoto Island and the city foreshore. There will be a daily draw to decide which yacht competing teams will sail that day.

  • For those who are interested – the 12 teams are:

    Emirates Team New Zealand – New Zealand
    Luna Rossa – Italy
    BMW Oracle – USA
    K-Challenge- France
    Mascalzone Latino – Italy
    Team Origin – UK
    China Team – China
    Team Shosholoza – South Africa
    Italia – Vasco Vascotto – Italy
    Team Germany – Germany
    Greek Challenge – Greece
    Alinghi– Switzerland

    Waiting list:
    Italia – Francesco De Angelis – Italy
    Team French Spirit – Marc Pajot – France